How “You Can’t Lose” Developed


How I developed my story

You Can’t Lose What You Never Had

Most writers look at this story as a mystery to be solved: Where did the mysterious winner go?  Why?  Is he dead?   That’s the normal way, but as those who know me have already figured out, there is not a normal bone in my body.  I wanted to know how the other people in his life were affected by his disappearance.
I mentally outlined the main characters, used Google Maps to find a workable location, and then traveled via my very warped imagination to the Arkansas side of the Louisiana-Arkansas border to meet the people and get to know their attitudes and lifestyles.
My first encounter was an oldtimer sitting on a bench near a small square. This story is the result of my interview; I am glad I stopped to talk with him.
This entry was posted in How the stories of the Missing Lottery Winner were written by David Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About David Kent

I promote and encourage the advancement and education of writers everywhere. I dream of a society that once again incorporated literature into the acculturation of their children, replacing the empty calories of 22 minute sitcoms and mindless reality TV. But first we write, then prod them to read, and finally hope for the best. Read more at http://writerinthemountains.blogspot.com/

One thought on “How “You Can’t Lose” Developed

  1. Pingback: You Can’t Lose What You Never Had — By: David Kent | Writer's Gallery

Let us know what you think

